redemo

Blog

Storylane alternatives (2026): interactive demo platforms compared

By Stéphane Rathgeber · · 10 min

For marketing demos on a small budget, Guideflow, Supademo and Arcade start around $35 to $43 a month billed annually. For realistic HTML demos, Navattic and HowdyGo. For sales teams running sandbox or live-app demos, Walnut, Reprise and Consensus. Across all of them, updating a demo after a release still means capturing it again, and if the job calls for a narrated video rather than a click-through, a different kind of tool applies.

Storylane is a capable all-rounder: screenshot, video and HTML demos, AI voice-overs, personalization, analytics and CRM integrations. Teams usually look elsewhere for one of four reasons. The price jumps from Starter to Growth, which is where HTML capture starts. Seats are priced individually. Sales needs live or sandbox demos that cost more on Storylane. Or the job turns out to need a narrated video rather than a click-through.

This guide sorts the alternatives by who they are built for, with plans, capture types and export options checked on each vendor's own pages on October 7, 2026. Prices change, and several competing articles quote figures that are already out of date, so confirm on the vendor's page before you buy.

Storylane in 2026, for reference

Storylane's free plan includes one seat and one published demo with unlimited views. Starter costs $50 billed monthly or $40 billed annually for one seat, plus $40 for each extra seat, with screenshot and video demos, AI voice-overs, HubSpot and video export. Growth costs $625 a month or $500 billed annually for five seats, and adds HTML/CSS capture, personalization and A/B testing. Premium costs $1,500 a month or $1,200 annually for ten seats, with sandbox demos as an add-on. It also sells AI SDR agents separately.

The alternatives at a glance

ToolCaptureFree planPaid fromVideo export
ArcadeScreenshot and video; HTML on Enterprise1 published demo$42.50/seat/mo annual, $50 monthlyMP4, GIF
SupademoScreenshot and video; HTML from Business5 demos$38/creator/mo annual, $50 monthlyMP4 up to 4K
GuideflowScreenshot; HTML from Growth5 demos, watermark$35/mo annual, $40 monthlyVideo, GIF
LayerpathScreenshot and video3 published projects$50/creator/moVideo
NavatticHTML1 demoContact salesMP4, up to 15 steps
HowdyGoHTML14-day trial$159/mo annual, unlimited usersMP4
WalnutHTML, sandboxNo$575/mo annualMP4, GIF
DemoboostHTML or screenshot, live-app overlayNo$375/mo annualNot stated
RepriseLive-app overlay, tours, app clonesFirst demo freeContact salesNot stated
ConsensusVideo demos, tours, live demo agentNoContact salesNot stated
RedemoFilms your live appNo$49/site/moA narrated MP4 is the product

For marketing teams on a budget

Arcade

The lightest way to publish a polished click-through demo. Capture with a Chrome extension, a desktop app or the Figma plugin, then add hotspots, chapters, branching, forms and AI voice-over; Arcade also generates AI videos and visuals from captured flows. HTML capture is reserved for Enterprise. The free plan allows one published demo and one video; Growth costs $50 per seat monthly or $42.50 annually and adds MP4 and GIF export. We compare it with Storylane in more depth in Redemo vs Arcade vs Storylane.

Supademo

The most generous free plan in this group: five interactive demos and 50 video recordings for one creator, with watermarked exports up to 1080p. It captures screenshots and video on every plan, adds sandbox demos from Growth and HTML cloning from Business, and offers branching, AI personalization, voice cloning and demo versioning on higher plans. Scale costs $50 per creator monthly or $38 annually.

Guideflow

The cheapest paid entry point: Solo costs $40 a month or $35 billed annually for one member. It covers screenshot demos, AI voice-over and translation, and video and GIF export; HTML capture starts at Growth, $599 a month or $499 annually (the monthly price view still calls it Startup), and sandboxes and AI video avatars at Advanced. The free plan allows five demos with a watermark. Guideflow also supports mobile demos.

Layerpath

Product-education software that turns one recording into a guided tour, a written step-by-step guide and a video, from a Chrome extension or an uploaded Loom or Zoom recording. The free plan keeps three projects published at a time and five watermarked video exports a month. Pro costs $50 per creator a month or $500 a year.

For realistic HTML demos

Navattic

Built around HTML capture from a Chrome extension, so demos stay sharp and the text on screen stays real text. An AI Copilot drafts and reviews demos, and paid plans include AI voice-overs and avatars, account identification, A/B testing and integrations with Salesforce, Marketo and more than 25 other tools. Video export produces MP4 of up to 15 steps. The free plan includes one demo for one seat; paid plans are billed annually and priced on request.

HowdyGo

Pixel-accurate HTML copies of your app, with unlimited users on every plan, which changes the maths for a large team. Starter costs $199 billed monthly or $159 billed annually, not per seat, and includes MP4 export; Pro adds CRM integrations, offline demos and sandboxes as an add-on. There is no free plan, only a 14-day trial. HowdyGo also offers a recorder for command-line tools.

For sales and presales teams

These platforms go beyond marketing tours: demos run in a deal room, inside a sandbox, or on top of your real application with injected data. They are priced for sales organisations.

Walnut

Interactive HTML demos and sandboxes for sales teams, with an AI mode that drafts demos for your approval, prospect personalization, video overlays with AI avatars and CRM integrations. Ignite, the entry plan, costs $575 a month billed annually with three editor and three presenter seats. Walnut's marketing says demos update themselves when your product changes; the mechanism its help centre documents is an update button that pushes template changes to connected demos.

Reprise

An enterprise platform with three approaches in one: injecting demo data into your real application, front-end capture for product tours, and code-level application clones. It is SOC 2 and ISO 27001 certified. Your first demo is free; beyond that, pricing is an annual platform fee plus per-user licences, quoted by sales.

Consensus

A demo automation platform that combines on-demand video demos, interactive tours, a live demo agent and stakeholder tracking. In 2026 it acquired Saleo, known for running live demos inside the real product with injected data, and Peel. Pricing is per-user licences, on request.

Demoboost and Demostack

Demoboost captures HTML or screenshots and adds video, mobile and sandbox demos, plus an overlay for live apps on Enterprise; Start Up costs $375 a month billed annually for two seats. Demostack builds a clone of your product's front end with simulated data, and is priced on request. Tourial, which also appears on many lists, is now part of Navless.ai, whose main product targets B2B websites; Tourial's own plans are still on sale.

Keeping demos current is still mostly manual

Whichever platform you choose, the demo is a capture of your product at one moment. When the interface changes, someone captures it again. The vendors are candid about it:

  • Storylane's own guidance recommends targeted re-capture and a human owner who approves every regenerated demo. Search and replace across HTML demos starts at Growth.
  • Navattic's guidance is to replace captures manually, with bulk edits for copy.
  • Supademo's MCP skill for feature launches finds affected steps, drafts copy changes and flags steps for re-capture, which a person then records.
  • Arcade announced in December 2025 an agent that logs in, re-captures a changed flow and submits the result for human review. Its help page is no longer online, so ask Arcade about its status before counting on it.

If your product ships weekly, budget for that maintenance whichever tool you pick.

When the job calls for a video

Interactive demos let a prospect explore at their own pace, and a clickable demo inside a sales follow-up is hard to beat. A homepage hero, an ad, a launch post or a feature page often wants something else: a short narrated video that plays on its own.

Redemo makes that video from your live app. You give it the address of your product, a short brief and, if the script needs it, a demo account. You approve the script; a browser films each scene in your real product and an AI presenter narrates it over the footage. You can enable automatic updates per video: when we detect a release and the approved path still works, the video is filmed and published again within your monthly allowance, and an earlier version can be restored in one click. It is not interactive, the presenter speaks English, and it needs a web app a browser can reach. Plans start at $49 per site per month, with several videos per site. See how it works.

How to choose

  • One marketer, a few demos, a small budget: Guideflow, Supademo or Arcade.
  • You want the free plan to go furthest: Supademo.
  • Demos must look exactly like your app at any screen size: Navattic or HowdyGo.
  • A large team needs access without per-seat pricing: HowdyGo.
  • Sales runs demos in deal rooms or inside the real product: Walnut, Reprise or Consensus.
  • You need a narrated video of your product that keeps up with releases: Redemo.

If Supademo is the tool you are moving away from, our Supademo alternatives guide compares it with the same platforms. For the wider picture, including screen recorders and avatar tools, see our guide to demo video tools for SaaS.

Frequently asked questions

Does Storylane have a free plan?

Yes. Storylane's free plan includes one seat and one published demo with unlimited views. Starter costs $50 billed monthly or $40 billed annually for one seat, and $40 for each extra seat (October 2026).

What is the cheapest Storylane alternative?

Among paid plans, Guideflow Solo costs $35 a month billed annually, Supademo Scale $38 per creator and Arcade Growth $42.50 per seat. For free plans, Supademo allows five interactive demos and Guideflow five demos with a watermark.

What is the difference between screenshot and HTML demos?

A screenshot demo is a sequence of images with hotspots on top. An HTML demo is a captured copy of the page's code, so text stays sharp and selectable, layouts adapt to the screen, and copy can be edited after capture. HTML capture usually costs more: on Storylane it starts at Growth, on Arcade at Enterprise.

Can interactive demos update themselves when the product changes?

Not reliably today. The vendors' own guidance is to re-capture the steps that changed and have a person review the result. Arcade announced an agent that re-captures changed flows for human review in December 2025, but its documentation is no longer online.

Start

A demo video that keeps up with your releases

Point Redemo at your live app and a 90-second script. Real product footage, an AI presenter, and automatic updates you can enable per video: when we detect a release and the approved path still works, we film it again.